Blog Tour: Sneaking Out

SneakingOutTourBannerHello readers! Welcome back to my blog for today’s post, for the blog tour currently running for Sneaking Out by Chuck Vance. This is a YA Mystery novel that is the first in a brand new series! Stay tuned for my full review as well as an international giveaway opportunity and more details about how to purchase a copy of the book. Let’s start!


Book details:
Sneaking Out
by Chuck Vance
(Chased, #1)
Published by: Dunemere Books
Publication date: March 6th 2018
Genres: Mystery, Young Adult

Could you sleep next to a murderer?

Luke Chase—yes, that Luke Chase, a modern hero ripped from the headlines—didn’t mean to get caught up in Mrs. Heckler’s murder. He just wanted to hook up with the hot new British girl at St. Benedict’s, and if that meant sneaking out to the woods after hours, then so be it. But little did he know someone would end up dead right next to their rendezvous spot, and his best friend and roommate Oscar Weymouth would go down for it. With suspects aplenty and a past that’s anything but innocent, Luke Chase reluctantly calls on his famous survival skills to find the true killer.

For fans of “A Study in Charlotte” and boarding school lit, “Sneaking Out” (book one in the “Chased” series) immerses readers in the privileged prep school world, with a mystery that exposes the dark side of life on a residential high school campus.

Chuck Vance is a pseudonym for a bestselling writer of both adult mysteries and novels for young adults. Vance attended boarding school in Connecticut and graduated from Columbia University. Vance has lived in New York, Moscow, London, Paris and Los Angeles and is frequently on the move.
Author links:
REVIEW: I always love a good mystery and Sneaking Out was definitely a well crafted one. Set in the grounds of a posh school, a group of teens venture outside into the woods at night even though the rules clearly state that this isn’t allowed. The following morning, the body of a woman that is connected to the school is found near the place where the teens were. One of the teens called Oscar gets accused of murder, with tensions running high, it’s up to the main character Luke and his friends to track down the real killer responsible. The plotline and settings were reminiscent of a Hardy Boys/Nancy Drew mystery, I personally do enjoy reading stories that have a school as a setting with one such example being Enid Blyton’s St Clare’s/Malory Towers series. It had a great pace to it, once all of the final details started to be revealed, it did make for an interesting climax. The second book in the series does follow a little plot twist mentioned in Sneaking Out but with another mystery to try and solve. I did struggle to connect to Luke as a character at times, however, it was exciting, great dialogue that left me feeling satisfied.
Giveaway!: 2x signed copies of Sneaking Out + 2x $25 gift cards
There is a giveaway running as part of the tour and… is open to international entries! Closing date to enter is on March 29th 2018. The link to enter is right here:
That concludes this post! A massive thank you to the team at Xpresso as well as the author Chuck for letting me be a part of the tour. See you all soon with a new upload.
Alice x



I Wrote A Song… (Not Clickbait)


Do you ever get that sensation deep inside where your mind feels so clogged up with all of these unwanted thoughts, therefore causing a negative impact on your emotions? I felt like that today, the strongest in a long time. And to cope with that, I sat back and wrote this song that I’m going to be sharing in my blog post today. I don’t often share my songwriting online because I’m scared of plagiarism or some troll coming along and writing a mean comment on my profile. But, from what I’ve experienced recently, I just felt compelled to write and share this.

The song’s story is about a friendship suddenly ending for no particular reason. As a person, you don’t know why someone you called a close friend suddenly decides that they’ve had enough of supporting you. Automatically, you question yourself and wonder if the person you are had something to do with this or maybe another reason that remains unknown. In my case, I really don’t know why. It hurts because I want to know why but at the same time, I don’t want to know why. The song is quite deep however for personal reasons, I won’t be making references in close detail to the ones involved. I do see this move as a breakthrough songwriting moment though as I haven’t personally written any songs since the start of January.

This one is titled “Another Face”. If you do have any feedback that you would like to share, please feel free to in the comments section below. Hope my writing is something that you enjoy and are interested in reading further.

Another Face

Memories of us so close, we planned to look back on

Toast to the summer nights as we talked

Had never felt so bold

Both of us lived two very separate lives

Something we didn’t seem to hide


Advice swapped back and forth

Moving forward, leaving all of the anguish behind

As the day turned slowly to night

Times I physically felt you close by my side

Distance was never the problem


Today, I dwell on the heartaches

That came with what looked to be a mistake

Now, I know, that things won’t ever be OK

As I’m just another face

You used to know and appreciate


Cry to myself as we walk out each day

Across the city walkways

Following what I sense deep in my soul

Now stands so cold, far away from bright gold


Once we laughed, just us

I’ll remember

You and me together

In warmth and comfort

Close friendship is all we ever need

Till the joy starts to bleed


Today, I dwell on the heartaches

That came with what looked to be a mistake

Now, I know, that things won’t ever be OK

As I’m just another face

You used to know and appreciate


That concludes this post, thanks for reading.


Blog Tour: Threadwalkers


Hello all! Welcome to the blog tour for YA novel Threadwalkers! This post will contain more details about the book as well as my full review and link to a giveaway that is running alongside the tour. Enjoy reading the post!


Book details:
by Joanna Volavka
Publication date: October 16th 2017
Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult

After her father’s death in a plane crash, Miranda Woodward’s life begins to unravel. On her sixteenth birthday, Miranda receives a mysterious gift: a small wooden box containing a needle and spool of gossamer golden thread, left behind by her father, which begins a chain of events that soon leave her life in chaos. Her pet cat is replaced with another, her teachers don’t have her on their roll call at school, even her closest friends forget who she is. When her mother vanishes into thin air, Miranda becomes desperate for answers. She follows clues to a meet a man known only as the Tailor. With his help, she must find a way to fix her life before it’s too late.

Joanna Volavka is the author of the young adult science fiction novel Threadwalkers. She currently lives in Chicago with her husband, two cats, and extensive book collection. A writer for Geek Girl Pen Pals, Joanna spends her time alternately between creative artistic pursuits and has a passion for conservation and wildlife while working on whatever story she’s got brewing in her overly active imagination. She still hasn’t decided what she’s going to be when she grows up, though she suspects it will probably be herself. Read more about Joanna and her adventures on her website
You can connect with Joanna on Twitter: @joannavolavka and on Instagram: @joannavolavka and @geekyjo
Author links:
REVIEW: Threadwalkers was the YA novel that I am super pleased to have read since after reading some recent novels in the YA group that I hadn’t enjoyed much, this storyline was creepy with some intriguing characters. When her father dies in an accident, his daughter Miranda gets this gift which completely transforms her life. No-one can remember her existence and everything feels out of place. After her mother goes missing, she connects with the Tailor who has a mysterious life of his own but only him can help Miranda. I loved the time travel aspect as well as the story’s pacing, Miranda at times was a tricky character to connect with. Visual, scary and… no romance! This is the read that I generally did need at this time.
There is an INTL giveaway running with the closing date for entries on 15th March 2018, stop by this link to enter!:
That concludes this post! A big thank you to the author Joanna and the team at Xpresso for letting me be a part of the tour for this book. Don’t forget to stop by all of the other blogs that are participating, see you all soon!
Alice x

#ReadathonbyZoe Wrap-Up!

Hello readers! Wow! I’m completely blown away by all of the support on my blog over the last 48 hours or so, hello and welcome to all of the new users who have subscribed, it’s lovely to meet you all. Hope that you enjoy reading my posts! Today’s upload is going to be a wrap-up for a readathon that I participated in yesterday which… I was sort of successful in accomplishing some personal targets. I managed to complete 4 books (out of over 8 I had on my previous TBR) but at the same time, it was the sense of relief knocking some more books off of my to read stacks that are currently dominating my bedroom! XD

Here is an image of the four books I read for the readathon below and as you can see, they were all classics! This is quite a rare occurrence for me, hopefully though throughout 2018, I can get to some more that are waiting to be picked up and read.


Now, onto what I actually thought about all of the books I read! I will say this now, I didn’t give any of these books mentioned more than three stars… So, that may ring some warning bells if you potentially wanted to read any of them.

Book One: The Story Of A Shipwrecked Sailor by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

This was such a quick read, at 106 pages long, I was able to finish this in just fifteen minutes. Inspired by true events after a ship sinks, the only survivor lasts for ten days on a lifeboat without food and water. The storytelling reminded me so much of a book that I had to read for my Access class in English Literature: Life of PI by Yann Martel however, I enjoyed this short story more. It was visual, action-packed, however, I did feel a disconnection towards the survivor and was expecting more of an adventurous tale. Him having the bravery to share his life story was inspiring, good quick read that didn’t leave me fully satisfied.

Final rating: 3/5 Stars

Book Two: Where Angels Fear To Tread by E.M Forster

Honestly, out of the four books I read, this one was the one I found the most disappointing. It was very info-dumpy, most of the characters were very unlikeable and the storyline surrounding the attempt of trying to kidnap a baby from its father after the mother dies in childbirth was one at times, I didn’t feel comfortable reading about. I liked the length and the geographical settings but that was all. My penguin edition however will definitely look nice on a bookshelf with other penguin classics.

Final rating: 1.5-2/5 stars (It’s a borderline 2 for this one)

Book Three: Billy Liar by Keith Waterhouse

If things couldn’t have started to go downhill, this book was another one that I highly anticipated that failed to deliver the fun comedy that I was looking for. Although Billy Liar, a lad from Yorkshire was an interesting character, the majority of the jokes that were featured, I simply didn’t find amusing. Baring in mind that this book was published way back in the 1950s so I feel that it fitted that time period more comfortably. It was a story that I simply couldn’t relate to. I struggled to connect to the characters and started to skip paragraphs because my enjoyment by this point was all but lost.

Final rating: 2/5 stars

Book Four: The 39 Steps by John Buchan

This was better than the previous books I had finished reading, however, the thriller just didn’t flow very comfortably for me personally. It was short, some of the details about Hannay while he was on the run from the police force were long and at times, quite boring to read about. The climax I felt was short and ended rather abruptly. I did like the visual settings and the dialogue however which potentially saved the story for me. As of right now, I won’t be continuing on with the series, I feel that the film adaptation by Alfred Hitchcock will be the version I personally prefer to the novel.

Final rating: 3/5 stars  

That concludes this post! Did you participate in the Readathon? How many books did you read? I would love to know in the comments below! Thanks so much for reading and see you soon with a new post. Also, shout-out to Zoe for organising this!

Alice x



Author Feature: How I Got Published by Amy Wilson

Hello readers! I’m back with an exciting upload, a piece written by published author Amy Wilson on how she became published. I’m delighted to be sharing her story on my blog today, if like me, you are aspiring to one day see your books in stores and shelved in libraries, then this is a must-read! Amy is the author of A Girl Called Owl and latest release A Far Away Magic. Thank you to Pan Macmillan for sending me copies of both books, they look super pretty together! Enjoy reading and stay tuned for more details on the books as well as purchase links to them if you are interested in picking up copies! I also saw Amy discuss at a book event for Bath Children’s Literature Festival last year ‘Writing For Young People’ which I really enjoyed! I have a full post for that which you can access on my blog!

I liked writing poetry, when I was small. I liked the play of words, the rhythm, and they were easier to finish – or to feel finished, anyway.  When I wrote stories they felt like magic, utterly transporting, but I always got lost in the middle. I remember starting my first novel when I was on holiday in Spain, I was about twelve, and there was a boy called Jeff in it, but that’s about all I remember and I certainly didn’t finish it.

I spent the next twenty years doing things like that, while I went through secondary school and found a career in newspaper journalism. So many beginnings of things that never quite found their way to the end.

That’s why I did the MA in Creative Writing at Bath Spa in the end, because I knew I’d come out with 40,000 words of something that had been worked on with the guidance of the tutors there. We had two small children, it was disastrous financially, but at the end of it I did indeed have my 40,000 words. I finished that novel, and sent it out to agents. I was very lucky to get some interest, but in the end there were no takers. I wrote another book and sent that out. Again, some interest, but no takers, until Amber Caraveo of Skylark got in touch to say that although she didn’t think what I’d sent was quite the right thing for her, she loved my writing. Could I send her some beginnings?

Could I! I had dozens of my non-finished things. I sent a few pieces over to her, including my first, rejected novel, and I was kind of hoping she’d choose that one because it was already written. She did not. But she loved the first three chapters of A Girl Called Owl. We discussed the plot – I am terrible at synopses, she still despairs of the way I write those – and I went away, newly inspired, to finish writing it.  And in May 2015, I had the most wonderful call, when she offered me representation.

There was editing to do, and much work before it could be sent out to publishers, but I can still remember that call. And I remember vividly, too, the call I got at the start of November 2015, when Amber told me we’d sold A Girl Called Owl to Macmillan. My third child was less than a week old, and it was, after all that time, a bit of a blur! Most days I still can’t believe it’s really real. So I’m just going to keep writing, and hoping people will still want to read what I’m writing. Because although a lot has changed in all that time, the writing hasn’t. The writing is still the bit that feels like magic to me. And now I know it’s possible to get to the end. It might not be in the right shape, but it exists, as a whole. If I have a piece of advice it would be that – to finish what you’re doing. Fight through all the clunky bits and navigate all those crossroads, and get to the end. It will need editing, but it will be there. You will have done it, and whatever happens next nobody can ever take that away from you. And when you’re ready, you can send it out!

Thanks so much to Jo at Macmillan for inviting me to be a part of the promotional tour and for the opportunity to feature a post here! Also, big thanks to MyKindaBook and to Amy for sending copies to me. Hope you enjoyed reading, here are the blurbs for the novels:


It’s bad enough having a mum dippy enough to name you Owl, but when you’ve got a dad you’ve never met, a best friend who needs you more than ever, and a new boy at school giving you weird looks, there’s not a lot of room for much else.

So when Owl starts seeing strange frost patterns on her skin, she’s tempted to just burrow down under the duvet and forget all about it. Could her strange new powers be linked to her mysterious father? And what will happen when she enters the magical world of winter for the first time?

A glittering story of frost and friendship, with writing full of magic and heart, A Girl Called Owl is a stunning debut about family, responsibility and the beauty of the natural world.


When Angel moves to a new school after the death of her parents, she isn’t interested in making friends. Until she meets Bavar – a strange boy, tall, awkward and desperate to remain unseen, but who seems to have a kind of magic about him. Everyone and everything within Bavar’s enchanted house is urging him to step up and protect the world from a magical rift through which monsters are travelling, the same monsters that killed Angel’s parents.

But Bavar doesn’t want to follow the path that’s been chosen for him – he wants to be normal; to disappear. Fighting one another as well as their fears, Angel and Bavar must find a way to repair the rift between the worlds, and themselves, before it’s too late . . .

See you all soon with a new post!

Alice x


I Finished Writing A Novel + 250 Subscribers!

Hello!…. The wind chill here is -15*C, my campus is shut today due to the severe weather warnings and I’m drinking so much hot chocolate and fruit tea, it’s crazy. Today’s post is a bit of a celebration one since I reached two very epic (in my view) milestones this week. One to do with this blog, the other my personal writing. So, I’m super excited to share all of the exciting details with you all that read my posts. The first big milestone was… I finished writing my novel! It was an emotional experience, sitting at the computer and writing the last few chapters in just a couple of hours and realising that I was saying goodbye to all of the characters that I had grown close to over the months that were spent planning the plotline. I was crying as I typed my closing note but deep down inside, I felt both excited and relieved that the longest project to date had finally been completed.

This particular novel will remain a standalone however, I’m already hard at work planning my next projects that will be uploaded to Tablo. Tablo is a free writing website (If you know Wattpad then this is just like it except no spammers and great layout/formatting) where you can upload stories and poetry to get feedback. The website is also unique because you don’t actually need an account to read someone’s story and the reads still get counted which are displayed on a writer’s profile. Posting my novel online has been a fantastic experience and connecting with readers, the best kind of encouragement for any nervous writer who dreams of one day becoming published. My novel length is just 57,000 words long and is a proud Nanowrimo 2017 winning novel after I successfully wrote 50K words during the worldwide writing event in November 2017. Here is a picture of my novel cover as well as some relevant tweets to my writing:


I made the cover myself using Canva, which helps me strike up some creative and visual inspiration for planning my various novellas and books of poetry. I plan to change this cover at some point but I thought that the rows of letterboxes looked interesting and since my novel is told in epistolary (basically written in letters style), then it had to feature something similar to that on my cover. The novel follows a young girl called Morwenna who gets a diary as a Christmas present from her Dad. She writes a letter in it around once a week and documents her experiences as well as personal thoughts that she has. She also loves to write and actively participates in Camp Nanowrimo and the main Nanowrimo events. The story also discusses sexuality, bullying, falling in love and some elements of paranormal with ghosts and abandoned buildings ooooooooh. This is suitable I say for readers over 15+ and is available to read online in full for free:

It would be awesome if we could reach 50 followers on my Tablo profile, I recently reached 25 followers and am an active user there, chatting to other users. I plan to post lots more very soon and is the quickest way to stay updated with what is being released. Just click on the above link to be directed to my novel and also, where you can click on my profile picture to view my profile. If you would like to leave feedback, you need an account which is quick and easy to set-up. Any questions, feel free to ask me.

My original tweet from the end of November 2017!

My tweet from this past week celebrating the end of my novel, full word count and how long Tablo estimated it would take for someone to read my writing (which me reading back my own writing will be quicker than that) 😛

The second milestone happened today… There are now 250 of you subscribed to my blog! A lovely little surprise to see when I logged on this morning to check my messages. After creating this blog over two years ago, I was so worried when promoting my new posts just wasn’t attracting anyone. I’ve wanted to quit so many times, it’s crazy but… 250 is a pretty awesome accomplishment and now, hoping for 300 by my birthday in the summer! I have some giveaways planned to celebrate within the coming weeks so make sure you stay tuned for that.

Speaking of giveaways, I have one running at the moment in celebration of World Book Day 2018. Here is the official tweet announcing the giveaway but I would love some help in trying to spread the word about it. This is only the second time that I have ever created a giveaway and seeing new entries and meeting others on Twitter for the first time is super cool!

That concludes this long, chatty post from me in the middle of a freak snowstorm but, a big thank you to all of you that support me and continue to show your love across everything I do in the bookish/mental health/writing/blogging communities. I am looking forward to seeing what happens next for my blog and personal writing. See you all soon with a new upload and stay safe if you are caught up in Storm Emma!

Alice x

Blog Tour: Curses and Ash


Hello readers! Welcome back to my blog and a new tour post, this time for the YA Fantasy novel Curses and Ash by Tiffany Daune! The first book in this series called The Siren Chronicles is titled Coral and Bone which you can read my review for here: This tour post will contain all of the details you need to know about Curses and Ash as well as a giveaway opportunity so stay tuned for more!

Curses and ash

Book details:
Curses and Ash
by Tiffany Daune
(The Siren Chronicles #2)
Publication date: November 11th 2017
Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult

Discover the spellbinding sequel to Coral & Bone…

A demented twin sister, a demon hijacking her powers, and a mysterious journal filled with more questions than answers—Halen needs her Guardian Dax more than ever. But if she confides in Dax, she fears he will never forgive her, not after all he sacrificed to help her vanquish Asair. Halen drowned Asair in a tornado of wings—at least, she thought she killed him. Why then does his mocking voice snake through her thoughts, enticing her to surrender her power? Maybe she screwed up—big time—but she will never allow Asair to control her magick. And when Etils’ fires threaten the Earth, suspicions surrounding Asair’s death rise, igniting restlessness within the realms. Her life in balance, Halen must race time, purge the demon’s soul before flames consume the Earth or the Tari strike first.

Tiffany Daune writes stories about magic, love and dark creatures lurking in the shadows. She is the author of Coral and Bone (The Siren Chronicles Book One) for which she also recieved a Watty Award in the category of Trailblazers. When not lost in Editland, you can find her reading a book from her towering TBR pile or kicking back and watching movies with her family. She lives on an island, in the Pacific Northwest, surrounded by mermaids that are much nicer than the ones found in her books.
Author links:
REVIEW: Curses and Ash was a thrilling sequel to Coral and Bone in which we continue Halen’s journey in a bid against time to find the controls to her magick and save herself before everything goes out of hand. It was a quick read to get into and follows straight on from the concluding events of the first book, the worldbuilding and adventure was what kept me reading up until the final page, not knowing where the story was going was actually the best thing as the twists and turns were completely unexpected. The introduction of the mysterious journal was also a key element that I liked in Curses and Ash as it added more of a suspense surrounding the journey that Halen was on. For those who like mermaids, siren and fantasy books, check out this series!
GIVEAWAY: This is only open to residents of the US/Canada and closes on March 8th 2018! To win a one month box of Owlcrate, head over to this link to enter!-
Thank you to the author Tiffany and the team at Xpresso for letting me be a part of the tour. Have a great day and see you all soon!
Alice x