Blog Tour: Spell Book and Scandal

IMG_1155Hello readers! Welcome to the blog tour post for Spell Book and Scandal, a YA Paranormal story. This post will contain all of the information about the book, where to purchase a copy and a very exciting giveaway opportunity, so let’s get onto the fun!

IMG_1154

Book details:

Spell Book & Scandal
by Jen McConnel
Publication date: October 31st 2017
Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult

Synopsis: Shelby King is tired of living in her sister’s shadow. Just because Christina is the most powerful caster in school doesn’t mean Shelby’s any good at magic; she’s a scribe, like her mom, and everyone expects her to write spells for her sister, the way her mom always has for her dad. But Shelby’s spells fail spectacularly, and by the time she’s a sophomore, Christina won’t touch them with a ten-foot-pole; their parents aren’t much better. Shelby is fed up, and she decides to show the world she doesn’t care if she isn’t as good as her stuck-up sister, or as talented as their powerful parents. In fact, she decides it’s time to break all the rules, magical and otherwise, and she starts sneaking out to meet Jeremiah Smallwood, the second-best caster in school at illegal pop-up spell battles around town. She may not be able to scribe for him, but she doesn’t mind letting him think that she could; Shelby’s been half in love with Miah as long as she can remember, but he’s never paid attention to her until now, and she’s not going to risk her chances worrying about a pesky thing like the truth. But when Christina rats her out to their parents, Shelby can’t control her anger, and words come pouring out of her that she can’t take back even if she wanted to, threatening Christina’s future…and Shelby’s own chances with Jeremiah. It’ll take more magic than Shelby’s ever dreamed of to set things right, but no scribe has that much magic…right?

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/31197542-andr?ac=1&from_search=true

Purchase:
Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Spell-Book-Scandal-ebook/dp/B074MG89NT
B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/spell-book-scandal-jen-mcconnel/1126944895
iBooks: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/spell-book-scandal/id1268923231
Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/ca/en/ebook/spell-book-scandal

IMG_1156

AUTHOR BIO:
Award-winning author Jen McConnel writes NA, YA, and nonfiction. When she isn’t writing, she can be found on her yoga mat or wandering off on another adventure. Visit http://www.JenMcConnel.com to learn more!

Author links:
http://jenmcconnel.com/

https://www.facebook.com/jenmcconnelauthor
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6451403.Jen_McConnel

Review: Spells, sisterhood, a touch of romance, Spell Book and Scandal is basically Freaky Friday meets Hocus Pocus. Shelby and Christina are siblings that just can’t  seem to get along, while Christina is practicing for an exam called The Threes, Shelby is trying to write her own spells but keeping her writing a secret. Because her parents are more supportive to her older sister, Shelby decides that the only way to fit in is to break all the rules. However in the process, she accidentally writes a spell causing her and Christina to switch bodies! Trying to navigate their way through school life and practising for exams, Shelby must come up with the correct spell to switch both of them back before it’s too late. The story was an easy read with a quick start, the first in a series with the next release in 2018, the ending wasn’t a cliffhanger which I was pleased about. I enjoyed reading about the illegal pop-up spell battles that took place in a zoo as well as the developing relationship between Shelby and Jeremiah. The length of the story is perfect if you are looking for a quick, fun read. I look forward to reading the next book and witness more spells being cast!

Now onto the exciting giveaway which everyone can participate in! The giveaway is to name a character that will be featured in book 2 of the series! This closes on November 23rd 2017 for entries and you can enter here: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/d04251232150/

That wraps up the blog tour post! A big thank you to Jen and the team at Xpresso for letting me be a part of the tour, see you all soon with some more uploads.

Alice.

 

Advertisements

My 2017 Books Christmas Wishlist!

With over a month to go until the festive holiday break, it’s now time to reveal the books that I have fallen in love with and am interested in reading a copy of them. This list will be split into two parts, one for LoveOZYA which is a Twitter and blogging hashtag that I follow regularly and the only way you can get hold of some of the books mentioned in Aussie bloggers posts is through The Book Depository since they aren’t sale for sale in England via Amazon or Waterstones. The other part is for books you can purchase from anywhere in the UK basically. So, without further ado, let’s go!

LoveOZYA List:

  • Sparrow by Scot Gardner
  • Gap Year in Ghost Town by Michael Pryor
  • The Build-Up Season by Megan Jacobson
  • Frankie by Shivaun Plozza
  • Wreck by Fleur Ferris
  • Untidy Towns by Kate O’Donnell
  • Cooper Bartholomew is Dead by Rebecca James
  • Sky by Ondine Sherman

Now onto the second list!:

  • Radio Silence by Alice Oseman (Which one of my closet bookie friends Sarah from SarahRHatch on Twitter absolutely adores!)
  • We Are Okay by Nina Lecour
  • The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings
  • Warcross by Marie Lu
  • Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves
  • The Gentleman’s Guide To Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee
  • Before She Ignites by Jodi Meadows
  • A List of Cages by Robin Roe
  • Wicked Like A Wildfire by Lana Popović
  • The Glass Arrow by Kristen Simmons (The boyfriend has witnessed me on numerous occasions picking the copy of this up at my local Waterstones store) XD

There’s like 500 more I would mention in this post but this is the list for now, all of the books mentioned are YA Fiction and there’ll be lots of LoveOZYA posts coming to my blog within the coming months! Let me know if you like the list and if any of the ones that I mentioned were surprise additions or not.

See you all soon!

Alice x

My Novel Could Get Published?!?!- Week 1 Nanowrimo Check-In!

Hello readers!

The first week of November Nanowrimo 2017 is over and during this time, I started out strong on day one writing over 5,000 words and then going without writing for three days and feeling very slumpy. Yesterday when I was unwell and in bed wondering what to do to help take my mind off things, I started to write and another 3,000 words somehow had appeared in my documents. So, here is Nanowrimo for me in a series of tweets!

This is my current novel word count above as this post is going live!

My joy in one tweet about reaching 10,000 words yesterday on my novel!

GUYS, BIG FAT NO-NO, NEVER EVER LEAVE YOUR WRITING PLANNING BOOK AT HOME!

My victory of Day 1’s final word count!

Even though I didn’t make it into 10,000 words on Day 2 despite my best efforts, this tweet got a lot of love which really surprised me! ❤

Now, onto the most exciting part of this blog post. The fact that my novel could be selected for publication! However, it does depend on reader engagement stats such as reads, likes and follows. I started posting my Nanowrimo novel Letters To Myself on Tablo, a free online writing website where you can upload stories, poems and meet other writers. In just a few days, Letters To Myself was trending across the whole of Tablo and a small fanbase starting to emerge.

I really need your help though! To help achieve my dream of getting published or even finding an agent or being considered for publication, please read my novel on Tablo here:  https://tablo.io/alice-mtb44/dear-myself  and follow me on Tablo as well: https://tablo.io/alice-mtb44 Your support means the world to me, its free to sign-up and the range of stories available to read on the website itself such as YA Fiction and Short Stories means that you’ll never feel bored!

That’s it for this post, thanks so much everyone for reading and supporting. Stay tuned for week 2’s check-in post to see if my novel is a success or a failure.

Alice x

Introducing My Self-Imposed Reading Plan: Project YA

November 6th 2017

Hello readers, the first week of Nanowrimo is almost over and today after a few days break from writing my novel, I’m planning to write for the majority of the day since it’s my day off from classes. It’s freezing temperatures outside and I have started the day with a nice hot health tea that’s definitely become one of my new favourites. Yesterday on Bonfire Night, I spent over two hours going through all of the YA books I own and making a list of all the books I haven’t read yet. And you guessed it friends, there are a lot of them. Over 200 of them in fact.

So this is the plan, by the January of 2019, I hope to get all of the books that are on this list that need to be read down to 0. Obviously I will be getting more books in the coming months but if I do reach as close to 0 as possible, then I’ll be extremely satisfied! My reading has somewhat taken a back-burner because of my Nanowrimo participation but currently, I’m just loving the book world right now and having a fun time chatting to other bloggers and writers like myself.

Here’s the Goodreads list that I made of all of the books yesterday, any that I should prioritise for definite? https://www.goodreads.com/review/list/45911840?shelf=ya-i-own-tbr-list

Have a lovely day, see you all soon!

Alice x

Blog Tour: My New Crush Gave To Me

IMG_1151

Hello readers and welcome to another blog tour post! This time, it is for the YA Contemporary Romance novel My New Crush Gave To Me by Shani Petroff. This post will include more details about the book, author and have my spoiler-free thoughts on the story and characters. So, without further ado, let’s go!

IMG_1153

Book details:

My New Crush Gave to Me
by Shani Petroff
Published by: Swoon Reads
Publication date: October 31st 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult

Synopsis:
This sweet, funny holiday romance from the author of Romeo And What’s Her Name features cute boys, plenty of rom-com mishaps, and a determined heroine readers are certain to fall for.

Charlotte “Charlie” Donovan knows exactly what she wants for Christmas: Teo Ortiz. He’s a star athlete, a National Honor Society member, and the most popular guy in school. Plus he contributes to the school paper, where Charlie is a co-editor. Basically, he’s exactly the type of guy Charlie’s looking for. The only problem is—he barely knows she exists.

But Charlie has a plan: rig the paper’s Secret Santa and win his heart with the perfect gift. The catch? She has no idea what to get him. Enter J.D. Ortiz–Teo’s cousin, and possibly the most annoying person on the planet. He’s easy going, laid back, disorganized, and spontaneous—the exact opposite
of Charlie (and Teo). But he knows what Teo wants, so she’s stuck with him.

Yet, the more time Charlie spends with J.D., the more she starts to wonder: Does she really know what, or rather who, she wants for Christmas?

Shani Petroff’s newest young adult comedy of errors, My New Crush Gave to Me, is the perfect read for those searching for some love and laughter along with their holiday spirit.

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/33158563-my-new-crush-gave-to-me

Purchase:
Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/My-New-Crush-Gave-Me-ebook/dp/B06Y5FND76/
B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/my-new-crush-gave-to-me-shani-petroff/1125191669?ean=9781250130327#/
iBooks: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/my-new-crush-gave-to-me/id1225284236?mt=11
Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/ca/en/ebook/my-new-crush-gave-to-me

IMG_1152

AUTHOR BIO:
Shani Petroff is a writer living in New York City. She’s the author of the “Bedeviled” series, which includes Daddy’s Little Angel, The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly Dress, Careful What You Wish For, and Love Struck, and is the co-author of the “Destined” series which includes Ash and Ultraviolet. She also writes for television news programs and several other venues. When she’s not locked in her apartment typing away, she spends a whole lot of time on books, boys, TV, daydreaming, and shopping online.

Author links:
http://www.shanipetroff.com/
https://www.facebook.com/shanipetroffauthor/

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2866422.Shani_Petroff

REVIEW: I read My New Crush Gave To Me on Halloween which did feel a little strange considering the novel is set during Christmas time but honestly, reading this story was simply a pure and festive delight. The main character Charlie aka Charlotte plots to get the one person she wants to fall in love with and have a happy Christmas while creating fun memories to cherish. A plan to use Secret Santa to accomplish that goal opens up more questions than answers as Charlie realises that maybe her crush’s cousin actually might be Mr Right. This standalone was a laugh out loud, heartwarming rom-com, perfect for snuggling up in bed and reading with some hot chocolate or in my case, a mug of hot fruit tea. My New Crush Gave To Me is perfect for teen readers who have been in love or are in love. I recommend this as a 15+ read due to an underage drinking scene. I liked Charlie and J.D as characters, as the plotline developed, myself as the reader really got to see their struggles and a hilarious trip to the shopping mall which also pushes their friendship to the limits. Fun, festive and fabulous. I’m thrilled Swoon Reads published this, I’ve really been struggling to find a good YA Christmas story to read and happy to say that My New Crush Gave To Me is one of my favourites!

OK readers, it’s giveaway time! Just a disclaimer, the blog tour giveaway is only open to residents residing in either the US or Canada!

Giveaway:
Tour-wide giveaway (US/CAN)
Print copy of My New Crush Gave to Me

Entries will close on the 9th of November. Click on this link for the chance to enter!: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/d04251232117/

That concludes this tour post! A big thank you to Shani, Swoon Reads and Xpresso for letting me be a part of the promotional book tour. Don’t forget to stop by all of the other blogs participating and see you all soon with a new post.

Alice.

Blog Tour: Breathless

BreathlessTourBanner

Hello readers! The end of October is fast approaching and while most of us have been reading some spooky stories (myself included) I signed up to participate in the blog tour for Breathless, the first book in a new Adult Contemporary Romance series by Leigh Lavalle. This post will contain more details about the book, my spoiler-free thoughts and an international giveaway so, get excited and let’s begin!

Breathless

Book details:
Breathless
by Leigh LaValle
(Yoga in the City, #1)
Publication date: May 27th 2017
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Synopsis:

A sassy new romance from a USA Today Bestselling Author…

After moving cross-country yet again, Hannah Roberts wants to put down roots in Colorado. She’s sunk her life savings into a share of Bloom Yoga Studio, but the studio is losing money, and fast. The building is undergoing a messy, noisy renovation–and the hot carpenter in charge is distracting her yoga students in more ways than one. If Hannah can’t talk the hard-bodied builder out of his power tools, she might as well kiss her dreams goodbye.

When Jake Marshall returned from Afghanistan, he brought back an injured knee and a lot of bad memories. He just wants to finish this renovation, rehab his knee, and head for Alaska to leave it all behind. A sexy yoga teacher doesn’t fit into his plans. But when Hannah offers him private sessions in exchange for quiet hours—he’s all in.  He doesn’t expect that while she’s healing his knee, Hannah will poke at all his hidden wounds…and come dangerously close to breaking open his heart.

Purchase:

 

Leigh

AUTHOR BIO:
Leigh LaValle is a USA Today bestselling author of contemporary and historical romance. She lives in Montana with her family. When she is not chasing kids, bemoaning the laundry, or carving out time to do yoga, she is sneaking away to write. She would rather read than sleep, and cannot imagine a better job than writing romance. She is also a certified yoga teacher, but is not nearly as flexible as she once was.

Awards and Nominations
RT Book Reviews 4 stars…..TOP PICK Night Owl Reviews….Nominated BEST HISTORICAL The Romance Reviews….Nominated for Romance Writers of America Golden Heart Award…Nominated Best Historical Romancing Rakes

Author links:
REVIEW: I don’t know about you but I absolutely love Yoga, I’ve found that it helps me to feel more relaxed and have some sort of control over daily goals I set myself every morning when I wake up. Breathless is the first book in the Yoga in the City series including romance, emotional stories and… Yoga. In this book, we follow main characters Hannah and Jake. After a bad relationship break-up, Hannah arrives in Colorado, USA to set up a Yoga studio called Bloom. However, the studio is losing money fast and the noisy construction work on the building where the studio is housed is causing issues for students attending classes. The new landlord Jake, an Afghanistan veteran, is struggling with the ghosts of his past and tries to throw himself into the construction work to help take his mind off of things. With a knee injury, Hannah offers to help with 1 to 1 sessions but doing so could open up wounds for both of them that they are trying to heal closed.
Breathless was a steamy, fast-paced read in the beautiful Colorado settings. I have never been abroad personally but hearing the descriptions of the woods and mountain tracks, I am very interested to pack my bags and go for a hike! I don’t normally read a lot of adult romances but felt Breathless was the perfect length and really opened up about the various Yoga positions which I may try myself (providing that I don’t cause damage to my Mum’s china plates!).
I’m excited to see where this series goes. If you are over 18 and love romances that are spicy, emotional and heart-braking, look no further.
Now, onto the giveaway opportunity! As part of the Breathless tour, the following prizes are up for grabs!
Giveaway:

Tour-wide giveaway (INTL)
  • $25 gift card to Amazon or BN
  • 3 Kindle copies of Breathless

To be in with the chance of winning any of the prizes above, click on this link: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/d04251232103/

Entries close on the 9th of November 2017 and is open internationally!

That concludes this post! Thanks so much for stopping by and having a read, don’t forget to stop by all of the other blogs that are participating on the tour as well as follow Xpresso Blog Tours and Leigh on social media. Once again, thanks to both Xpresso and Leigh for letting me be a part of this tour.

Alice.

Announcing My Nanowrimo 2017 Project: Letters To Myself!

October 29th 2017

Guys, I have some serious news that I would like to share with you. Full-time student Alice is about to tackle another hurdle to her already planned busy November 2017, participating in this year’s Nanowrimo, a global writing event where the aim is to write 50,000 words by the end of the month.

This post will be announcing important details surrounding my project and ways that you can read it and support me in the process! So, without further ado, get excited for the book…

My project title is Letters To Myself, it’s a UKYA Contemporary with a few Paranormal elements thrown in because I like to scare XD but it will all be written in the form of letters. I have written in letter form before and honestly, I found it a lot of fun and creative. So, I’m bringing it back!


One girl, one year, fifty-two letters.

Letters To Myself will follow the life and experiences of main character, seventeen year old Morwenna as she navigates through the worlds of sixth form, leaving childhood, first love and grief. A coming of age story where life lessons will be learnt and shared, written down and kept hidden away from nosy eyes belonging to her brother and friends.

The recommended reading age for this story is 15+ and is a standalone novel. Morwenna is inspired by some of my own habits and hobbies and the surrounding areas where she lives, inspired by my own city living experiences.

Letters To Myself will be available to read online on Tablo and Penana, two free online writing websites, both have mobile apps which you can purchase from the App Store.

I’m really excited to work on Letters To Myself, this will be the fourth time participating in the main November event but I’ve never won. Hopefully this is the year? We’ll have to wait and see!

Add me as a buddy on Nanowrimo: http://www.Nanowrimo.org/Marriedtobooks44

Also super close to 900 followers on Twitter, add me there to see daily progress tweets on my writing: http://www.Twitter.com/MarriedToBooks3

That’s all for this post, will be back tomorrow with a blog tour stop! Thanks for reading and supporting, see you all soon!

Alice x