Writing A Book Based On My Struggles with GAD.

Hello all!

Over the last week, I’ve been lucky enough to meet through WordPress forums and Twitter so many of you guys who are new subscribers to either this blog or both of my blogs so a big welcome and I hope you’re having a good day/night wherever you are in the world.

I’ve been keeping this little piece of writing news under wraps for a while for two reasons. One, I wanted to go it alone to start off with and two, I wasn’t sure what people’s reactions were going to be. But from the blog post title, you can most likely guess what I’m going to be writing about.

It will be a book based on my struggles with GAD which I was diagnosed with in January and Depression. GAD starts for Generalised Anxiety Disorder. In the months since being diagnosed, I’ve made it my goal to share my experiences in the hope that they help other people. This book will be written in the form of diary entries, poetry, songwriting and Instagram posts. My goal was to start writing it after my birthday which I did but then, things came to a halt. 

There have been some incidents  with people saying that I shouldn’t be sharing my experiences to others or that I’m attention seeking and writing this won’t get me into University or a well-paid job. I DON’T CARE. What is more important is discovering my triggers and how to overcome them as well as being a listening ear to anyone who needs it. I need to do me before anything else comes my way. So, if you don’t want to support my writing, that’s fine. If you do, that’s fine too. It may sound harsh but growing up, I know that not everyone who reads my writing will like it. ❤

The book will be available to read in full around mid-September. If it does do well and gets a good reaction to it, I may look into self-publishing on Amazon but time will tell.        

Let me know if you would be interested in reading this, I will keep your guys posted!

Alice x

One thought on “Writing A Book Based On My Struggles with GAD.

  1. Alice, I’m sure writing things down will help. Be open to the suggestions of those who are trying to help you and take time to be interested in other people too, your experiences could help others.

    Like

Leave a Reply

