#MentalHealthMonday: How I Cope With Changing Timetables.

Hello everyone! This post will be going live on Tuesday 7th (even though it says Monday in the title) because I had the Celtic Fire Blog Tour so I wanted to push the post back. But starting this week on my blog, there are going to be three new series of posts going up and here they are:

Mental Health Monday- Where I talk about my Anxiety disorder and general health.

Writing Wednesday- Where I post snippets of Creative Writing and talk about my writing projects.

Fun Friday- Where I do a round-up of all the books read over the previous week with full spoiler-free reviews of each book.

Sounds fun? I hope you like this new approach since personally, changing my blogging habits hopefully will motivate me to update more.

So, for post 1 of Mental Health Monday, I’m going to be taking about time and when planned activities change including the results of my Anxiety in the ways I react to that. 

Since Primary School, I’ve always hated being allocated timetables and then when we were meant to be doing Maths for example, we would end up doing Art and that always used to unsettle me.

Since leaving education, the biggest change was having no timetable and so far, some days have been rough, others more productive. It really depends on general mindset and passion. On my return to classes this September, I will be back to a timetable again and it’s the adjusting part that scares me a little.

What I am planning to do to help me cope when I return to College are these five things:

  1. Make sure I get a copy of my timetable early in advance so that I see what it looks like and how I can plan transport and what to do during breaks.
  2. Get back into the habit of waking up and going to bed at a set time so that I’m not tired throughout the day.
  3. Be honest about my feelings to members of staff if I feel uncomfortable (the College already know about my Anxiety disorder).
  4. If things do change, ask a close friend to sit close to me in class so that I don’t have a panic attack.
  5. Stay focused on the work at hand and wear a big smile on my face. 

Being honest right now and saying here that my Anxiety in situations like this one isn’t as bad as it used to be however depending on my moods, there is a time where I do feel extra fragile and need to be careful when facing change.

Going back to College may look daunting but for me, I chose to go back because I’m passionate about the subjects on offer and am looking forward towards future years at University rather than dwelling on getting through the present day. This is what keeps me going.

I hope you enjoyed this post, let me know if these tips helped you and if you struggle with unexpected changes just like this. 

Next week’s topic: Building up friendships with an Anxiety disorder.

Alice x 

4 thoughts on “#MentalHealthMonday: How I Cope With Changing Timetables.

  1. I find timetables really help my anxiety, except of course as you mention when they change. I like to plan things out in advance and that really helps me. Being honest about your feelings is definitely a good idea – I was scared at first but things got so much easier after I admitted how I was feeling.

    (Also getting up at a set time is also another great thing that helps me – my doctor specifically told me to do it because of how much she thought it would help me)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Simply want to say your article is as surprising.
    The clearness in your post is simply nice and i could assume you are an expert on this subject.

    Fine with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep
    up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the rewarding work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

