Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo: First book read in 2017. (Spoiler-Free Review)

img_1070

If you like this review, I would really appreciate you checking it out on Goodreads here:    https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1460708728?type=review#rating_101069935 And also since writing this review, it’s become my most popular written review of all time so thanks for all of the love!

Six of Crows Review:

Overall star rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

This was the local library’s YA Book Club Book Pick of the Month for December and also the first book that I have read in 2017! I would like to thank my old college library for allowing me to borrow the book even though I am not a student at the moment for the book group since I was absent when the copies were handed out due to other matters.

This was the first book by Leigh Bardugo that I’ve read. I have seen the Grisha trilogy around and have heard mixed things regarding the books but if you think I should read them, let me know in the comments section under this review! Six of Crows is a YA Fantasy novel, the first in a duology with the second book Crooked Kingdom released a few weeks ago.

The story takes place in a world full of danger, adventure and… guards, lots of them. Kaz Brekker is someone who has a criminal background and loves to tackle dangerous deeds. Kaz’s character reminded me a lot of The Artful Dodger from Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens. He is offered a job involving a ton of money and plenty of risks involved. Break into the Ice Court, where no prisoner has ever escaped from and rescue a hostage from under the noses of the elite. But this is a mission that Kaz cannot do alone so he gathers six others from the city all with different strengths to come together as a team and pull off the impossible. The only issue is that most of them don’t get along with each other with constant bickering putting everything under threat.

I thought the amount of action and tension throughout was fantastic, every chapter had something going on that kept me hooked as a reader. Some of the fight scenes were brutal and a lot of mentions of pistols but the whole fantasy adventure side of the story was outstanding. The only thing which stopped me giving the whole book 5 out of 5 stars were the descriptions of the world building. As a reader, I don’t just want to see the story world but I also want to feel like I am actually there with the characters myself, just like scenes from a movie or in a video game. I am a visual learner as well as a visual reader. I felt the descriptions were long and did for me personally take away some of that world building enjoyment.

The ending… wasn’t expecting that at all but I hope to be picking up Crooked Kingdom very soon! Plus, totally irrelevant but I’ll say this anyway. The day I got the book from my old College, there were six crows all lined up on the street outside my house and I flipped out!

Don’t forget to friend me on Goodreads if you would like to see more reviews from me and hit the like button if you found this review helpful for you!

Follow me on:
Twitter: marriedtobooks3
Instagram: iam_marriedtobooks44
Wordpress Book Blog: http://www.marriedtobooksreviewsandblog.wordpress.com

2 thoughts on “Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo: First book read in 2017. (Spoiler-Free Review)

Leave a Reply

