Ones To Watch: YA in 2017 That I Plan To Read+Purchase

It’s only August 2016 but I bet I am not the only one looking for to releases for 2017 under YA right? Taken from the listopia book list on Goodreads YA Novels of 2017, these are the ones that have so far caught my eye and what I know about them so far!

30233110

OK, I had a sneak peek at this through a free chapter sampler released onto Amazon Kindle and my word was left feeling excited. A new Dystopia set on a planet with the power of various gifts given to its people and a ton of action? January needs to hurry up right now! Only thing about the sampler, it was chapter 7 when I thought the sampler was the first chapter but as a new reader to her books, I love my epic Dystopian YA.

27883214

A pretty cover but with an adventurous twist, it’s about a girl named Scarlett who lives her dad and sister until plans of marriage are forced onto her by her dad. Her biggest dream however is to go to the Caraval, a performance that happens only once a year. When her sister gets kidnapped, she has to play a ruthless game to try and find her in the nick of time. Again, another January release. I sadly wasn’t able to get an ARC of this, I tried 😦 but I’m getting some Hunger Games vibes off this, I hope that’s not too strange hahaha.

24975012

Holy maloney, the cover is freaking gorgeous! I’m probably biased since blue is my favourite colour and roses are my favourite flowers ever. An interesting kickass fantasy this time i’m getting Snow White and Red Queen vibes off this (I’m weird, sorry!) but the novel is about Anna and she cannot perform any form of spell whatsoever until she breaks her sister’s debutante spell. Anna at only sixteen gets banished to Hungary as a rebellion starts to strike. This is a March release but we all know that I would love to read this at this moment in time 🙂

28145767

Can I be honest here and say when I found out that Strange the Dreamer was getting pushed back six months I was really upset? I haven’t read any of her books before but the teaser sort of suspenseful blurb on Goodreads made me sit up and take notice:

Strange the Dreamer is the story of:
The aftermath of a war between gods and men
A mysterious city stripped of its name
A mythic hero with blood on his hands
A young librarian with a singular dream
A girl every bit as perilous as she is imperiled
Alchemy and blood candy, nightmares and godspawn, moths and monsters, friendship and treachery, love and carnage.

Welcome to Weep.

Damn Laini, you’ve already made me weep because of the release date change 😦

25876993

Ooooh, spies 😛

I’m a total sucker for spy novels and when I saw this was selected by Swoon Reads for publication earlier this year, EEEEEEEK! OK, the first in a brand new series, Reagan is destined to be a spy for the most secretive agency: The Black Angels. However, that plan is flipped upside down when she falls in love with the boy next door. She has to make a decision that could change everything around her. A January release.

28265679

Yay, a teen comedy with a dollop of romance mixed in! A Romeo and Juliet school production involving two girls, Amanda cast as Juliet and Emily who is her understudy. It doesn’t help that Emily fancies the guy who plays Romeo- real name Wes. When Amanda ends up in hospital, Emily has to be the new Juliet but with her lack of study into the script, it could end up turning into a real faux pas. This is a February release also selected by Swoon Reads for publication!

Have any other YA 2017 releases you are looking forward to? Leave them down in the comments section of this post.

Alice x

(The covers are all pretty ahhhh 😀 )

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

