Five Ways To Get Some Free Books!

Hey everyone! I am so sorry for not updating this blog regularly. My recent timings have been all over the place since I’ve had two exams plus been dealing with some bereavement and personal issues away from the internet but I had the idea for this blog post since everyone (including my eighty-nine year old Grandma) always asks me how I get so many books without paying a single penny so… Here are some ways that I’ve used to get hold of some free books!

1, Enter in Twitter giveaways

Bloggers, authors, publishers, they all run giveaways on Twitter. Simple ways to enter them is to follow their Twitter account and retweet the tweet about the giveaway that they are hosting. Some giveaways don’t have age limits but some do so it is important that before you enter, you must double check what the terms and conditions are. Notable accounts that I’ve entered and won giveaways from include: Faber & Faber publishers, Dani from dani_reviews and Maximum Pop Books. I’ve won copies of signed books, early copies of books from read and review by a certain date and a signed poster from the author Pierce Brown. There is a lot of competition for giveaways however, you never know what might just happen…

2, Become a member of your local Library

Libraries are great places to get free books. It’s free to borrow them plus with a wide selection across hundreds of genres and authors, it’s easy to discover the type of books that you may be interested in reading in. My Dad works for the Library service so i’m one of the first to know if any new books come into the Library. Recently, my local Library service has merged with a couple of other counties so that means more books are available to borrow and read!

3, Word of Mouth

This includes Twitter, Goodreads and other people’s blogs. I’ve been lucky enough to review some incredible books for the blogging community and spread the word about them before general release. These include Nevernight which I am currently reading and Never Stop Falling which I posted a review on my blog about a couple of months ago. There are various ways that you can search up on books available for review. There are Goodreads groups as well as various hashtags #review #book that you can type into a Twitter search and see if anything comes up that is recent. 99% of the time, it is recent.

4, Sign up for bloggers mailing lists hold by publishers

A couple of months ago, I was really lucky to be added to Pan Macmillan’s bloggers mailing list. This meant that if any new book/publicity opportunities came about then I would be one of the first to know. If publishers see that you have an active social media presence and review books honestly then they will offer you a chance to be on their mailing list and that’s a great thing if you want to connect with publishers in the book community as well as blogging community.

5, ARCs for Trade

Personally, I haven’t done this but I know a ton of other bloggers and Goodreads users who have. It’s not against the rules and trading can give a blogger an opportunity to read/review a book that they may have missed out on earlier. It’s an exchange so you send out an ARC (or ARCs) and can get some in return. Postage may cost but if you are on the receiving ends of getting some ARCs from an ARC trade, it’s totally free!

That’s it for this blog post, if there are any other methods that you use, feel free to mention them in the comments section of this post. Thanks for reading!

Alice x

2 thoughts on “Five Ways To Get Some Free Books!

  1. It is appropriate time to make a few plans for the longer term and
    it is time to be happy. I’ve learn this publish and if
    I may just I desire to suggest you few fascinating
    things or tips. Maybe you could write next articles regarding this article.
    I wish to read even more things approximately it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

