Alice Reviews: The Sun In Her Eyes

25322146

4 stars!

Another ChickLit novel that I picked up on a impulse buy without quite knowing what the story was all about. This is my first novel that I’ve read by Paige Toon but not the first novel that I’ve purchased that is written by her.

The Sun In Her Eyes divides time between Adelaide, South Australia and London, UK. For Amber, she is happily married to Ned but after being made redundant from her job and receiving a telephone call from Liz, a woman she has grown up with as Amber’s dad’s partner calls to deliver the news that he has suffered from a stroke, Amber flies there to be with him. Back in Australia, she helps Liz to nurse her sick father as well as meet up with old childhood friends and visiting her mother’s grave. Amber’s mum was killed in a accident with Amber was just three.

One person that Amber rekindles her contact with is old school student Ethan who she used to have a crush on. A man with two daughters and going through divorce procedures, Amber battles her old romantic thoughts for him as well as her love for husband Ned who is away on business.

A lot of things do take place within the novel. But one thing that does linger throughout is how one decision can change the lives of the people surrounding you. Amber has to face some tough decisions in order to move forward with her life either back in London or staying in Australia.

In the meantime, someone from Amber’s past, tries to make contact with her because she has something to tell Amber.

It was an emotional and thought-provoking read. I did enjoy reading it and would read more novels by Paige Toon. I had no problems with the storyline but I wouldn’t recommend the story for younger readers.

8 thoughts on “Alice Reviews: The Sun In Her Eyes

  1. Howdy would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working with?

    I’m looking to start my own blog soon but I’m having a difficult
    time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.
    P.S Sorry for being off-topic but I had to ask! http://Www.yahoo.net/

    Like

    1. Hi Bill! I use WordPress for my blog. It was really simple to use and design a suitable template for my blog by uploading my own images and making sure that the font was readable for everyone who visits my blog. I haven’t used any of the other platforms that you mentioned but for a first-time blogger, WordPress does the job very well. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

