Alice Reviews: My Map Of You

27964722

5 stars to another gorgeous Greek ChickLit read!

I would like to thank the publishers Penguin Random House and the author Isabelle Broom for sending me a copy of My Map Of You in exchange for an honest review. I would also like to apologise for the late review, I’m sorry!

The story takes place both in London and on the Greek island of Zakynthos. From reading and exploring the settings of Zakynthos within the story, it looks and feels like the dream place not just to stay on a short break but to live there altogether. The descriptions made me feel like I was a tourist there spending time in the bars and chatting with the locals.

The main character Holly receives a letter stating that her aunt has passed away and in her legacy has left her house on the Greek island to Holly. Bewildered and confused, Holly leaves her boyfriend Robert and her domineering work boss behind to clean up her aunt’s Greek home in preparation for selling it on. But what looked like an easy task turns quickly into discovering more about her aunt’s past. Throughout My Map Of You, we uncover secrets that Holly learns that have been buried away from her for many years.

Without her boyfriend Robert, Holly meets the next-door neighbour to her aunt’s house Aidan who shows her around Zakynthos and teaches her some Greek. But Holly isn’t sure what she wants and on exploring through the novel, her decision whether to stay on the island or to sell and move on whatever happens will change her world forever.

There are plenty of laughs, joy and emotion to discover within My Map Of You. My recommendation for any readers interested in reading this novel would be to travel somewhere warm and read it. Perhaps on a beach or maybe in Greece itself?

I look forward to reading Isabelle’s next novel A Year and a Day being released this coming November 2016.

Leave a Reply

