Alice Reviews: Hot Pterodactyl Boyfriend

28446749

DNF at Page 32

I won a copy of the book through the twitter account Maximum Pop Books, the publishers Simon and Schuster and the author Alan Cumyn. I would like to say thank you to all of you for giving me the opportunity to read and review this book.

The cover is what appealed to me when I entered the giveaway to win a copy. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a cover with a human six pack chest and a pterodactyl dinosaur face. Whoever designed the cover, kudos to you! The blurb within itself looked really interesting. It is set in an American High School revolving around the life of the president of the school’s student body Shiels. She has a boyfriend Sheldon who has helped her in the past keep her life on track. The story starts immediately with the arrival of Pyke, who drops onto the High School grounds from the sky, part human, part dinosaur.

I’ve never read a story where a character has been created like that so that was brand new for me. By page 32, I decided that the story wasn’t really my cup of tea and had to DNF it. Because of this, I will not be leaving a star rating since I don’t do that for any story that I don’t finish reading.

The premise looked great, it sounded quirky. But if you are looking for a really simple girl meets boy contemporary romance, this probably isn’t going to be the book that you will be looking for. If you like stories with a hint of quirkiness or anything to do with dinosaurs, this will be right up your street.

Leave a Reply

