#TrilogyThrowback to… The Hunger Games!

Which has still got to be one of my favourite trilogies of all time. And yes, I first read the trilogy four years ago over the course of the summer break and became addicted to it. So, for anyone who doesn’t know what The Hunger Games is about, let me give you a brief synopsis.

The Hunger Games is set in the fictional world of Panem in the USA. There is a rich and vast area known as The Capitol and that is surrounded by twelve other districts that aren’t as well off. There used to be thirteen districts but a revolt caused that district to be destroyed. That is where the title of the novel and indeed the trilogy comes in. Every year, each of the twelve districts would send a boy and a girl to compete in a life survival event known as The Hunger Games. The selection process for this is called the Reaping, the aim is to be the last one standing. So, in other words, you have to try and kill off your competition from the other districts to be crowned champion.

The main protagonist in the series is Katniss Everdeen, when her younger sister gets selected to represent her district which is number 12, Katniss volunteers as tribute because she doesn’t want her sister to go through the trauma of the Games. Together with the other tribute selected Peeta Mellark, it’s up to them to be the last ones standing. The trilogy as a whole was simply fantastic because throughout the whole Games scenes, you never quite knew what to expect. It really opened my eyes towards the Fantasy and Dystopia genres which I hadn’t really read before.

Sadly, I don’t have copies of the full trilogy anymore. I only have the first book since the other two were library copies and had to be returned. I’ve only watched the first film which I did enjoy but because I prefer reading books to watching the TV/Film adaptations of it, I prefer the books more.

There are some new cover designs out for the trilogy which I thought looked bright but I wished that they could be more… dystopian.

Thanks for reading this post! Alice x

2767052

 

Leave a Reply

