#First8weeks Bookmail Book Haul!

I hate being ill once again, grrr, 2016 has proved so far to be a year where I have fallen unwell practically every few weeks. It’s such a bummer. However, this week, I marked the 8 week milestone from when I started this blog and a lot has happened in the first 8 weeks of my book blogging experience. Tonight’s post is quite an exciting one, I’m going to share with you all the books that have been sent to me in the mail by publishers and authors so far. And wait! Before you start jumping up and down in excitement, there’s still around 3 packages to come in the mail since… I kind of won some more book giveaways! It’s been a very exciting time for me bookwise, reviewing books for authors and publishers definitely makes me feel like I’m doing something right for once. So, with all that said, let’s get to the book haul. There is an order for this by the way, I’m going to go from the oldest to the newest bookmail. Let’s get started!

Kook by Chris Vick.

I won this book in conjunction with HarperCollins, Maximum Pop Books and the author Chris Vick for read and review which I have since gone on to post a review on this book on my blog. Feel free to check it out! It’s a young adult novel but some younger readers may find some scenes a bit uncomfortable.

And I Darken by Kiersten White.

This was sent to me by Penguin Random House, one of the head editors there called Ruth along with the author for read and review. This is again a YA novel with a release date of July 7th. This is the first book in a new trilogy which on the back of the ARC states that the trilogy stars the ultimate anti-princess. I’M SOLD.

Barrington Stoke Teen and YA Preview Summer 2016.

This is a little booklet promoting the new YA titles coming out with that publisher this summer. I contacted one of the team at Barrington Stoke after seeing a post about the sampler on Twitter and they sent me one. I will be reading and reviewing during the spring break so look out for that!

The Story of a Seagull and the Cat who taught her to fly by Luis Sepúlveda.

Funny story. One day on Twitter, a publisher followed me out of the blue called Alma Books and the first tweet that I saw posted by them was a request for book bloggers who may be potentially interested in reading and reviewing a copy of this story. It is a children’s book and once I found out that it was an international Bestseller, I had to get a copy. This was sent for read and review so the review will be posted here within the coming weeks.

Thanks For The Trouble by Tommy Wallach.

I won a copy of the book through a Twitter giveaway via Maximum Pop Books, the author and Simon + Schuster publishers. It is a signed copy as well. This is a YA novel that looks very mysterious indeed. This was not sent to me for read and review however as a gesture of goodwill, I will be reading and reviewing this book within the coming weeks.

Whisper To Me by Nick Lake.

I won a copy of the book via Hooked On Books on Twitter, the author and the publishers Bloomsbury. I was so happy to be one of six runners-up in this giveaway and won the book of my choice. I chose this book over the others because the main character is seventeen and is currently experiencing a broken heart. That is what I am going through at the moment and so, I could really relate to this novel. The release date is May 5th so I got the final version six weeks before release date so I’m excited to read. Again, this wasn’t for read and review however, I will be reviewing it on a post here as a gesture of goodwill.

The Unseeing by Anna Mazzola.

This actually came in the mail today during one of the biggest storms of this year. The release date for this is July 14th which just so happens to be my birthday! I got in contact with the publicity agent for this book who was offering ARCs for read and review and I got a copy today. This is an adult fiction historical crime novel set in Victorian London. The novel is actually based on a true real-life murder from that time period so I am ready to get scared out of my wits!

I also have 8 or 9 digital copies for read and review sent to me by authors who discovered my reviewing either through this blog or my Twitter feed (@marriedtobooks3). I’m super pumped for extreme reading!

I will sign this post off with a picture of all of the books that I have received so far in the first 8 weeks. By the way readers, if you know any UK based publishers that are giving away ARC copies of books or anyone offering print copies of ARCs that are international but can be shipped to the UK, then let me know either here or on my Twitter @marriedtobooks3. I read anything except extreme gore or violent novels. I read YA more but I don’t mind if it is picture books since I happen to know some young kids who like being read too!

Alice

#First8weeks

image

32 thoughts on “#First8weeks Bookmail Book Haul!

  1. I absolutely love your blog.. Excellent colors & theme. Did you develop this website yourself?
    Please reply back as I’m looking to create my own personal site
    and want to learn where you got this from or what the theme is named.
    Cheers!

    Like

    1. Thanks Jim! The photo at the top of my blog is my own. I used the free design tools on the WordPress designer to customize and change the layout around. I created this blog on my own with no-ones help. I’m a computing student so I’ve learnt some design for websites and blogs through the course I’m on at the moment.

      Like

  2. Howdy, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was just
    wondering if you get a lot of spam feedback? If so how do you reduce it,
    any plugin or anything you can suggest? I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so
    any support is very much appreciated.

    Like

    1. Hi Amy, thanks so much for reading my blog! I’ve been quite lucky when it comes to spam feedback. The ones that I do get, I just simply delete or if a user starts typing inappropriate things, I block. With this blog, on the free plan, I have Akismet which has done a pretty good job at detecting spam. I do recommend using that 🙂

      Like

  3. Yօu made some really gooɗ pkints there. I checked on thee net to fund out moгe
    about the issuе and fоund most peoplе will go long with your views on this
    website.

    Like

  4. Hi, I do think this is a great web site. I stumbledupon it
    😉 I may revisit yet again since i have bookmarked
    it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to guide other people.

    Like

  5. Good day I am so happy I found your website,
    I really found you by error, while I was researching on Google for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say thanks a
    lot for a fantastic post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the
    theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the moment but I
    have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the superb
    work.

    Like

  6. You made some really good points there. I checked on the web for
    more info about the issue and found most individuals
    will go along with your views on this site.

    Like

  7. Howdy would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with?
    I’m looking to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a tough
    time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S Sorry for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

    Like

    1. Hi Frank!

      My blog platform that I use is WordPress and out of all of the other options that I looked at. I used to use Blogger but was having terrible trouble over designing and styling the blog for all devices, I chose WordPress. WordPress gives you a lot of creative freedom. For example, the picture at the top of the blog is my art therapy colouring book. I simply uploaded an image of that and it works and looks nice on all platforms (computers, tablets, phones.) Feel free to ask more questions if you have any. Regards, Alice.

      Like

  8. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this site.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s challenging to
    get that “perfect balance” between usability and visual appearance.
    I must say that you’ve done a excellent job with this. In addition, the blog loads super fast for me on Safari.
    Excellent Blog!

    Like

  9. Great work! This is the type of info that should be shared around the web.
    Disgrace on Google for no longer positioning this put
    up upper! Come on over and discuss with my site
    . Thank you =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

