Discovering The Power Of Speed Reading

It is fast and furious, just as fast as Usain Bolt and his running. But how did I go from not touching the pages of books to reading like a speed racing car at 200mph? Simple: Speed Reading.

In my eyes, Speed Reading is when a person gets a book, is able to block out all 0f the noises and distractions of daily life, read and analyse things quickly and finish books in record time. Speed Reading takes a lot of practise, time and dedication as well as motivation. How I worked at it was simple, I read books often, making notes about key events that took place in the chapter (I used to do that, I don’t anymore) and put it down on my bookcase with a smile as I declared myself to have finished reading it.

There are positives to Speed Reading. You get through books quicker, you can still remember things that took place in the book long after you’ve finished reading it, you can review books faster which is great for any authors and publishers who are looking to send review copies to readers in the mail and the quick turnover time for reviews. There is a very wide variety of things to read and try, lots of other people in the world that are Speed Readers. But there are negatives surrounding Speed Reading too.

First of all, I’ve been bullied for Speed Reading in the past and accused of cheating by finishing a book faster than my other classmates. Once you start Speed Reading, it’s quite difficult to stop and re-adjust to a slower pace. There is a threat of eyestrain I’ve discovered from Speed Reading when you read a lot in a short amount of time (like on a mobile device for example), you may remember things from books that you honestly don’t want to remember from like the death of a main character for example.

Should I try and Speed Read then?

Every reader is different, some read fast like myself, others don’t. Work around trying to find the reading pace and adjustment that is right for you. By forcing yourself into bad habits like trying to Speed Read but feeling bad about it because you find it too uncomfortable, then that could in the worst case scenario which is putting you off from reading. That can result in a lot of heartbreak for anyone who has a passion for books.

If you have any questions about my past background with Speed Reading or any thoughts on Speed Reading, feel free to leave a comment on this post. I always respond to all of the comments and private messages!

Alice x

speed-reading-chrome-extension-350x225

Image taken from: http://expertelevation.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/05/speed-reading-chrome-extension-350×225.jpg

 

10 thoughts on “Discovering The Power Of Speed Reading

  1. I’m amazed, I have to admit. Seldom do I come across a blog
    that’s both equally educative and interesting, and without a doubt,
    you have hit the nail on the head. The issue is something that too
    few men and women are speaking intelligently
    about. Now i’m very happy that I came across this in my search for
    something relating to this.

    Like

  2. Greetings! Very useful advice within this article! It is the little changes which will make the most important changes.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    1. Hi! If you want to subscribe to my blog, there’s this little pop-up that comes up at the bottom of the screen which says follow. Just enter your email address and you should receive an email confirming that you are following my blog. Hope that helps! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

