My Top 10 Excited For YA Reads of 2016!

This is my list of current YA top 10 reads of 2016 that I am the most excited to read! All of the books listed here will be in a random order and have a publication date of sometime in 2016. So, let’s get to the list:

1, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by JK Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany.

This is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series set nineteen years after the events of the seventh book Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. And when I saw the cover reveal and announcement on Twitter about it, I fangirled so hard. It was difficult to try and not scream with excitement in front of my College class, now that would be embarrassing. It revolves around Harry and his youngest son Albus. That’s all I know at the moment for the story but as a fan of Harry Potter, this has to be on the list.

Release date- 31st July

harry-potter-and-the-cursed-child

2, Passenger by Alexandra Bracken.

I fell in love with this story because of the blurb. The blurb in my eyes is just so captivating, you have to check out the adventure that the two main characters Etta and Nicholas go through. Taken from the Amazon description, the blurb for Passenger is this:

Fans of Outlander and Red Queen will be swept away by this epic New York Times bestselling story of love, adventure and deceit.

In one devastating night, Etta Spencer loses everything she knows and loves. Thrust into an unfamiliar world by a stranger with a dangerous agenda, Etta is certain of only one thing: she has travelled not just miles but years from home.

Nicholas Carter is content with his life at sea, free from the Ironwoods – a powerful family in the Colonies – and the servitude he’s known at their hands. But with the arrival of an unusual passenger on his ship comes the insistent pull of the past he can’t escape and the family that won’t let him go. Now the Ironwoods are searching for a stolen object of untold value, one they believe only Etta, his passenger, can find.

Together, Etta and Nicholas embark on a perilous journey across centuries and continents, piecing together clues left behind by the traveller who will do anything to keep the object out of the Ironwoods’ grasp. But as they get closer to their target, treacherous forces threaten to separate Etta not only from Nicholas but from her path home forever.

Plus, I adored Red Queen and I really want to read Outlander so this sounds like my type of story completely.

Release date- 5th January (Already out)

alexandra-bracken-passenger

3, Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard.

I won’t share the blurb here since you need to read the first book Red Queen to understand the story better and it also has a spoiler from the first book. For fans of fantasy, young adult and adventure novels, I would really recommend Red Queen. For me, it was a five star read and one of the best books that I think I’ve ever read. I do have a blog post here about my fangirl thoughts of Red Queen. I have to confess, my excitement showed a lot. The main character is Mare and the setting for the story with the premise is just fantastic. You’ll be swept away in no time.

Release date- 11th February (Already out)

15441253-_sy540_

4, The Shadow Queen by CJ Redwine.

This is inspired by the tale of Snow White and I love the cover, I will never look at apples the same way again! Since I’m a huge lover for retellings of fairy tales and classics, and seeing what other readers and bloggers think about this book, with my love of Fantasy novels together, I’m 95% sure that I will like this book. It looks totally enchanting.

Release date- 3rd March (Already out)

23299513

5, The Way To Game The Walk Of Shame by Jenn P Nguyen.

This is a YA Contemporary novel about a girl called Taylor who gets drunk at a party and wakes up next to a bad boy surfer. All about relationships, teen drama and school life. In my opinion, I think summertime is the best time to read Contemporary novels, in particular, at the beach. With a summer release and success on the Swoon Reads website (I will be talking about that more in a later post), I think this is a story that teen readers will enjoy!

Release date- 7th June

25721507

6, All The Feels by Danika Stone.

The blurb people, the blurb. What a refreshing plotline, gorgeous cover, summer release date. What more could you want? Here’s the Amazon description of the book and you might be able to see why I like this book a lot:

College freshman Liv is more than just a fangirl: The Starveil movies are her life… So, when her favorite character, Captain Matt Spartan, is killed off at the end of the last movie, Liv Just. Can’t. Deal.

Tired of sitting in her room sobbing, Liv decides to launch an online campaign to bring her beloved hero back to life. With the help of her best friend, Xander, actor and steampunk cosplayer extraordinaire, she creates #SpartanSurvived, a campaign to ignite the fandom. But as her online life succeeds beyond her wildest dreams, Liv is forced to balance that with the pressures of school, her mother’s disapproval, and her (mostly nonexistent and entirely traumatic) romantic life. A trip to DragonCon with Xander might be exactly what she needs to figure out what she really wants.

This is also a story that was selected by Swoon Reads for publication and I’m so pleased that they did select this one.

Release date- 7th June

29222548

7, The Distance from A to Z by Natalie Blitt

What a cute looking YA contemporary read! With one main premise: Opposites attract which I find very true indeed. This is released by Epic Reads which are awesome when it comes to Teen Fiction so give them a search if you are looking for awesome books on a digital only publishing line. The prices are very cheap as well, 99p for a full novel. I’m not complaining. I can relate to this story too as I studied French at school and it does play a role in the story. Here’s the blurb taken from the book description up on Goodreads:

This full-length novel by debut author Natalie Blitt is a pitch-perfect blend of Stephanie Perkins and Miranda Kenneally that proves the age-old adage: opposites attract.

Seventeen-year old Abby has only one goal for her summer: to make sure she is fluent in French—well, that, and to get as far away from baseball and her Cubs-obsessed family as possible. A summer of culture and language, with no sports in sight.

That turns out to be impossible, though, because her French partner is the exact kind of boy she was hoping to avoid. Eight weeks. 120 hours of class. 80 hours of conversation practice with someone who seems to exclusively wear baseball caps and jerseys.

But Zeke in French is a different person than Zeke in English. And Abby can’t help but fall for him, hard. As Abby begins to suspect that Zeke is hiding something, she has to decide if bridging the gap between the distance between who she is and who he is, is worth the risk.

Release date: 12th January (Already out)

25131078

8, Sword and Verse by Kathy MacMillan.

I’ve actually seen a lot of mixed reviews for this book. One user on Amazon UK gave this book two stars and said it was disappointing. On the other hand, I had a look at reviews from other users on Goodreads and Amazon USA which to be honest had lots of people raving about how fantastic the book is! Very conflicting I know, this is the blurb from Amazon and I will let you readers be the judge of it:

In a sweeping fantasy that award-winning author Franny Billingsley called “fascinating and unique,” debut author Kathy MacMillan weaves palace intrigue and epic world building to craft a tale for fans of Rae Carson and Megan Whalen Turner.

Raisa was just a child when she was sold into slavery in the kingdom of Qilara. Before she was taken away, her father had been adamant that she learn to read and write. But where she now lives, literacy is a capital offense for all but the nobility. The written language is closely protected, and only the King, Prince, Tutor, and Tutor-in-training are allowed to learn its very highest form. So when she is plucked from her menial labor and selected to replace the last Tutor-in-training, who was executed, Raisa knows that betraying any hint of her past could mean death.

Keeping her secret guarded is hard enough, but the romance that’s been blossoming between her and Prince Mati isn’t helping matters. Then Raisa is approached by the Resistance—an underground rebel army—to help liberate the city’s slaves. She wants to free her people, but that would mean aiding a war against Mati. As Raisa struggles with what to do, she discovers a secret that the Qilarites have been hiding for centuries—one that, if uncovered, could bring the kingdom to its knees.

On the other hand, the cover looks pretty!

Release date- 25th February (Already out)

sword-and-verse-cover

9, Reign of Shadows by Sophie Jordan.

The cover and blurb started making my heart race the minute I spotted it on Goodreads, and looking at the reviews posted so far, they have been mixed just like Sword and Verse with some readers saying that it was a DNF (did not finish) for them while others love the whole premise. Once again, I will leave the blurb here for you guys to read and judge. This is a YA Fantasy novel:

Seventeen years ago, an eclipse cloaked the kingdom of Relhok in perpetual darkness. In the chaos, an evil chancellor murdered the king and queen and seized their throne. Luna, Relhok’s lost princess, has been hiding in a tower ever since. Luna’s survival depends on the world believing she is dead.

But that doesn’t stop Luna from wanting more. When she meets Fowler, a mysterious archer braving the woods outside her tower, Luna is drawn to him despite the risk. When the tower is attacked, Luna and Fowler escape together. But this world of darkness is more treacherous than Luna ever realized.

With every threat stacked against them, Luna and Fowler find solace in each other. But with secrets still unspoken between them, falling in love might be their most dangerous journey yet.

With lush writing and a star–crossed romance, Reign of Shadows is Sophie Jordan at her best.

And when someone mentions towers, I think of Rapunzel for some reason. But, I don’t think it’s all like that at all.

Release date- 9th February (Already out)

a1cz-krvfkl

10, Firstlife by Gena Showalter.

Main character is seventeen, has an obsession with numbers. Just like me. I’m sold, the end. No wait, it’s not the end since I’m going to share the Goodreads description of the story here for you all!:

ONE CHOICE.
TWO REALMS.
NO SECOND CHANCE.

Tenley “Ten” Lockwood is an average seventeen-year-old girl…who has spent the past thirteen months locked inside the Prynne Asylum. The reason? Not her obsession with numbers, but her refusal to let her parents choose where she’ll live—after she dies.

There is an eternal truth most of the world has come to accept: Firstlife is merely a dress rehearsal, and real life begins after death.

In the Everlife, two realms are in power: Troika and Myriad, longtime enemies and deadly rivals. Both will do anything to recruit Ten, including sending their top Laborers to lure her to their side. Soon, Ten finds herself on the run, caught in a wild tug-of-war between the two realms who will do anything to win the right to her soul. Who can she trust? And what if the realm she’s drawn to isn’t home to the boy she’s falling for? She just has to stay alive long enough to make a decision…

I can totally see this as a movie, if it was made into a movie, I would definitely pay to go and watch it, with extras like a large tub of popcorn and Pepsi. So worth it.

Release date- 23rd February (Already out)

9780373211579_BB.indd

Believe me, there are hundreds of YA stories that I really want to read that are being released this year. It was so hard to restrict it to just 10, but I hope that you guys like the list. Any surprises on it? Any on the list that you’ve read yourself? All I ask is that you don’t give away any spoilers in the comments section, that is one of my pet peeves.

I will be doing a separate top 10 for Adult Fiction and also a top 10 for Kindle freebie books too which will mainly be YA fiction but I’ll try to include some Adult books in it too.

Thanks so much for reading!

Alice x

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “My Top 10 Excited For YA Reads of 2016!

    1. I know right? I mentioned about my blog post on Twitter and the author of First Life Gena Showalter liked my tweet which made me feel excited inside. I hope to read it after my course finishes in June since my TBR list is huge at the moment! The Distance From A to Z looks incredibly cute, I love reading YA Romances and for under £2 on Kindle, so cheap. I’ve seen a ton of mixed reviews for Glass Sword, I’m interested in Cruel Crown which I believe are two short stories that take place after the events of Red Queen but before Glass Sword. I’ll have to give it a try for myself and see what happens. My hunt for a copy of Passenger goes on, everywhere I’ve been bookstorewise, it’s all sold out which is a bummer so I might order it off Amazon or contact an indie bookstore close to me and see if they could order a copy in. And thanks for reading 🙂

      Like

  1. It’s perfect time to make some plans for the future
    and it is time to be happy. I’ve read this post
    and if I could I wish to suggest you few interesting things or tips.
    Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article.
    I desire to read more things about it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

