March TBR List

I know what you’re thinking, it isn’t even the month of March yet. However, as a person and a very keen reader, I try to plan things ahead so I stay on top of the books that I would like to read. There are 8 books that I have on March’s TBR list, a few of them I’ve already started but some I’ve yet to start. So, here are the 8 books!

Legend by Marie Lu- Haven’t started yet

This is for the local Young Adult book club that I’ve joined. It’s the first month that they’ve been running it for and this is the first book! It is based on a retelling of a classic story called Les Miserables by Victor Hugo that I’ve actually reserved from the local library! So, two Les Mis books to read! But Legend does come first as it is for a book club and we need to share our thoughts on the story as a group. For all of your blog readers, I will be posting a review of Legend up on this blog! Legend is a YA fantasy novel, the first in a trilogy set in Los Angeles, well, rather a futuristic version of Los Angeles. The boy is called Day and the girl is called June, June is trying to hunt down the person that killed her brother and while she is on the run, she meets Day and a whole ton of crazy things happen. It looks to be one heck of a rollercoaster.

Kook by Chris Vick- Haven’t started yet

This is a Read for Review run jointly with Maximum Pop Books and Harpercollins Publishers. I was one of the lucky 10 in the UK to win a copy of this book in exchange for a honest review on my blog. I’m super excited to read it. The story is a YA contemporary with suspense thrown in. It revolves around a girl who loves surfing and a boy who is fairly geeky but is drawn to the surfer girl who holds a potentially dangerous obsession. The cover is absolutely gorgeous!

The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger- Haven’t started yet

While I was browsing one day on Goodreads, I stumbled onto a reading list called best books ever and I set myself a goal to try and read as many of the top 100. This was one of them. It is an adult romance story but with a scientfic and genetic twist. Clare and Henry were just six and thirty-six when they met but don’t get too paranoid about the age gap because when they marry, Clare is twenty-two and Henry thirty. The story revolves around this rare condition that Henry suffers from that causes himself to be pulled into either his past or sometime in the future. It looked very interesting with some positive reviews on Goodreads.

Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury- Started and on Page 17

This was one of three books that I brought on the Oxford book haul trip (see Oxford Book Haul post for more details!) It is set in a world where reading books and storing books is forbidden and Ray’s job as a fireman is to burn books. So far, it’s been a tad bit heartracing but I’m determined to continue.

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card- Haven’t started yet

This is an adult Science Fiction novel about an alien force that is about to invade Earth and the latest recruit to the battle school is someone called Ender. To stop the alien invasion, he must survive a training programme that is brutal and the toughest ever in the whole galaxy. I also saw this on the same Goodreads reading list as The Time Traveler’s Wife so this was also going on my list.

Game of Thrones by George R R Martin- Started and on page 46

So far, it’s been brutal, a tad bit unpleasant but you can’t fault the heartracing suspense, edge of your seat moments that seem to put the world at a standstill. Each chapter is set up from different people’s viewpoints in the story which can sometimes be a bit hard to follow. I’m not that brilliant when it comes to talking in great detail about Game of Thrones but is an adult fantasy novel with three different plotlines, fight scenes, death, secrets and lies. If that is something that you enjoy reading in books, you’ll like this one.

The Martian by Andy Weir- Haven’t started yet

This was recently made and released as a film. It is set in the year 2035 when an astronaut Mark becomes stranded alone on the planet Mars and it is up to him to make sure that he survives and stays safe from any danger and the risk of hunger and dehydration. This is an adult science fiction novel that I’ve been wanting to get a copy of since last year when the film was announced and I saw the trailer for it.

Wither (Book 1 in the Chemical Garden Trilogy)- Haven’t started yet

This book has interested me for a while now. It is a YA Fantasy Science Fiction novel about DNA engineering going horribly wrong. Women die at age 20, men at age 25. For young girls, they end up getting abducted and made to breed to keep the humanity alive and free from disaster. The story revolves around 16 year old Rhine who gets kidnapped and sold as a bride. Her new husband is nice but Rhine just doesn’t want to follow instructions, she ends up meeting a servant Gabriel and both try to commit the sneaky escape plan before it is too late. I’ve seen mixed reviews for the trilogy but I am intrigued by this one.

So, that’s my March TBR list! Let me know in the comments section of this post of you like my selections, if your favourite books are listed and any that interest you or are keen to hear my thoughts on the most! Thanks for reading, I wrote this at nearly 11 o’clock at night so sorry for any spelling mistakes!

Alice x

image

 

Leave a Reply

