Reading Ahead- National Reading Challenge (My Selection!)

imageMy first reading challenge that I’ve participated in this year and hopefully not the last. Reading Ahead is a UK reading challenge set in Further Education Colleges across the country where students sign up and read six books of their choice selected from the fiction section in their College library. As you can see from my selection in the photo above, I have quite a weird variety. I would like also to mention my apologises for the delayed blog post. Some really rough things happened to me away from the internet, I lost a guy, another couple of people that I called friends and my own will to get out of my bedroom without shedding a single tear. It’s still uncomfortable now but I’m trying to keep this blog up to date.

If you count the books on my pile, you will notice 7 books. No, it’s not because I can’t count properly, it’s because one of the books on that pile will be a DNF for me so I decided to replace it with something else. Here are the list of books on the pile from top to bottom. Titles and authors!

Game of Thrones by George R R Martin

The Inheritance by Jenny Pitman (This is the DNF story, you will know why in a second.)

Nights of Rain and Stars by Maeve Binchy

Girl With A Pearl Earring by Tracy Chevalier

The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown

Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov

One Day by David Nicholls

That’s the pile. Now, the DNF story The Inheritance is because it didn’t say anywhere in the book that it was like the 3rd/4th book in a series. I have no idea what has happened in the past books since they keep referring things that happened in past books back through the pages of this one. So, I gave up about 20 pages in and replaced it with Game of Thrones! My mum was horrified when she saw it, sorry mum. I’m sensible, don’t you worry.

Alice xx

 

Leave a Reply

