My Book Buying Spree

I tend to buy tons more books if I’m in a sad, bad or just angry type of mood. I really don’t know why, I can’t quite put my finger on it. Don’t get me wrong, I buy books when I’m happy also but it doesn’t quite feel the same.

On Friday, the one just gone, I decided to escape the walls of the College I attend just to sneak away to a charity book shop just a few doors away from where I study. At first, I thought that the shop was closed as signs were plastered all over the door but to my relief, it stated that it would be closed between the date today and this Friday. So, I went in.

I came out a few moments later, one book discoverer triumph. Three YA books for my enjoyment. I read one later that evening within the hour. This Raging Light by Estelle Laure. An uncorrected proof copy but then again, the £12.99 priced book had only just been released within the last week or so. It was a 3 star read for me since there were parts which the flow of the story was choppy and it reminded me of a few books that I had read by Jacqueline Wilson (Lily Alone, Lola Rose).

The other two books which are at the top of a stack of books in my room are Geek Girl and 13 Little Blue Envelopes. I was late to the party for both of these books but I smiled deep down inside.

The following day, I went to an indie bookstore and did a deal with the guy who ran it. Being a book blogger/reviewer, I found on the sale table a copy of the final book in the Slated trilogy by Teri Terry. The other two books weren’t in stock in the shop however, I managed to strike up a deal with him to get the first and second books for a discounted rate as long as I read and reviewed them. Which I plan to do on this blog once the time comes.

Today, I went to see my dad at work. I like the fact that he works for the library service since that means he is the first person to know about old books for sale. After a really crappy morning at my College, I went along to see him and check out the stock. I had quite a bit of fun. It may have been on just one trolley but I walked away with eight books, all YA fiction that I will be reading and reviewing as soon as I get through this little challenge that I am working on (more to follow about that on a separate blog post).

As I type this, a copy of the first book in the Game of Thrones series sits by my hand waiting for me to read. No, that wasn’t one of the books that I had brought from the library but they have the first four books in the College library. Hmmm… maybe I’ll be taking that out for a midnight read 😉

Alice

6 thoughts on “My Book Buying Spree

  1. Wow, this seems exciting! In my summary, Geek Girl is an incredible book about 15 year old geek, Harriet Manners, and how she goes from geek to something slightly different. Harriet is not like the other girls at school. She is not cool and trendy, doesn’t like fashion and gets bullied a lot by Alexa. Her best friend, Nat, loves fashion and has wanted to be a model since she was 7. Harriet’s Dad loves Harriet and will do anything for her. Annabel, her stepmother is a lawyer. She helps Harriet out whenever she needs it and Harriet loves her.

    What did you make of the relationship with the Father?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know right? I’ve seen lots of people reading the series and my favourite YouTube user (abookutopia) has an ARC of it. I just had to get it!

      I haven’t started it yet since other things have got in the way but once I do, I will let everyone know my thoughts on this blog 🙂

      Like

  2. Hi Alice, it’s safe to say I don’t read many books. Actually all I read is manga, my friends tease me about it and say that I have bad bio and I spend too much time on my favorite game; League Of Legends. But i really like what you’re doing here and it gives me confidence in myself, I will try to get into some other books but its nice to read about your day! Keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow Alice this has really touched me, as a guy who reads A LOT during my day (mostly 4chan, reddit and various clopping forums) I know exactly how you feel. Once I dig my teeth into some hot stories I cant help but finish them. I’m quite the little troll myself so I can be quite mischievous, but don’t be fooled, I’m a READ-A-HOLIC!! call me a b-tard but I love those random tales. have you heard of Shrek? its my favorite film, mostly because of the fairy tale element! I dream of being squeezed tightly by a handsome man, just like in fairy tales. (lol)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

